top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Marie J.

For the Broken

Most people say that love at first sight is just a myth; something that is only in fairy tales but they will never know unless they experience it for themselves. I knew of Gerald but didn't actually know him. He was quiet, reserved and humble - all of the traits I steered from in college. One day, I had gone into a neighborhood grocery store and walked past an isle that held captive a familiar face. It was almost like double taking. I walked back around to see the love of my life standing there gazing into me. It had been many times where I had said that I would meet the love of my life in a grocery store, never did I intend on it happening.

Immediately, those annoying butterflies crept into my stomach making me feel uneasy and full of hope simultaneously. All I could feel was love. I was scared to speak, scared to move, terrified to breathe... but in a good way. It felt as if he had cast a spell on me, disabling me to open my mouth. I looked crazy standing there staring at him but I promise you, what I felt was real.



After gawking at him for three seconds (or more), I finally built up the courage to allow the word, "Hey," to escape my lips. When he opened his mouth to speak, my knees grew weak and talking to him was equivalent to being kissed in the rain (those of you who get those butterflies from watching those sappy love stories know where I'm coming from). We stayed in contact after that moment. He filled my days with joy, hope and laughter again after almost giving up on love. I was completely hooked.

It didn't take long for me to realize that I loved him. Between the gut clutching laughter and the unnerving cries we shared together, I knew he was the one.

A year and a half later on my birthday, he surprised me with a picnic at my favorite park. He prepared the food, bought me a 50's dress (I'm obsessed with 50's attire) and made small scroll letters out of wine corks. Each cork had a question about the future and he answered each question I asked him correctly. When all of the questions were answered, he saved the most important one for last. With tear filled eyes, he looked into my soul, grabbed my hand and said, "I'm not the richest man. I can't buy you the world but I still want to ask you anyway." My heart thumped. I knew his question. I knew my answer. "Will you marry me?" My sunglasses hid my tears (I'm not one to really cry in front of anyone). He took them off to look into my eyes. "Yes!" Couldn't have done justice to the overwhelming emotion I was feeling inside.

I love him so much that even thinking about him makes me cry tears of joy. How could I want anything more? He is my everything.

"And the scary part is that I think I'm falling in love with you. Tell me how can someone ever fall back from that? Tell me how can someone ever want to?"

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page